Running for a cause close to my heart

IMG_1180 (1)

By Alice Delevante, Guest writer. Updated 2.28.2017

My name is Alice Delevante, and this weekend I am running in the Marathon of the Treasure Coast in support of patients and their families affected by Alzheimer’s disease.

alice-donna-doris
(From left) Alice Delevante, Donna True and Doris Sanders at the finish line of the 2016 Treasure Coast Marathon.

More than 14 years ago, I got involved with the Southeast Florida Chapter of the Alzheimer’s Association. Originally, I got involved due to my professional expertise, but since then I have had two family members affected by this disease. Because of the education I received from being involved with the organization, I was able to give advice and help my family members.

 

Throughout the years, I have volunteered for the association as an educator and as the chair for the Treasure Coast Walk to End Alzheimer’s. Alzheimer’s disease creates both emotional and financial hardships on affected families. In Martin and St. Lucie alone, more than 14,000 people have the disease.

The Southeast Florida Chapter of the Alzheimer’s Association provides caregivers with a 24/7 helpline, support groups, resources and education. Money raised helps fund local programs as well as Alzheimer’s research.

There are a few ways you can help me support the Alzheimer’s Association Southeast Florida Chapter.

alice-doris
Alice Delavante (left) and Doris Sanders at the finish line of the 2016 Treasure Coast Marathon. Alice also ran a 5K February 11, 2017, in support of the Alzheimer’s Association Southeast Florida Chapter.

 

  • You can register to run for the cause. There are multiple runs going on through March. On Sunday, March 5, the Treasure Coast Marathon and half marathon will be held. Find out more about registering here.
  • You can donate to my run here.

 

Find out more about the Southeast Florida Chapter of the Alzheimer’s Association by calling the 24/7 helpline at 800.272.3900 or visiting their website at alz.org/seflorida. You can also follow them on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

I hope to see you on the route!

 

Leave a Reply

