Mother’s Day is day to make, cherish memories

IMG_6690 (1)
Brittany and her mom pose for a photo.

Mother’s Day is the one day a year where we show our mom a little extra attention and love. We pamper and shower her in hugs, kisses and gifts, creating everlasting memories together.

But with a mom with Alzheimer’s disease, the holiday is different. My mom doesn’t remember the flowers and all the sticky crafts I gave her. She doesn’t remember the smell of breakfast and coffee lingering from the kitchen. And she doesn’t remember the cheesy Mother’s Day cards we picked out.

IMG_1025 (1)I wish she could remember walking into our messy kitchen as my brother and I attempted to bake a cake for her. I wish she could remember the smile on my face when I finally saved up enough money to buy her a picture frame and make her favorite chocolate cake – not burnt this time. I wish Alzheimer’s didn’t take her away so quickly.

This Mother’s day, I will visit my mom at a nursing home. I will wear a name-tag and tell her all the stories from previous Mother’s Days. I will wait for a response to my stories, knowing no words will come from her mouth but hoping for a smile letting me know she is listening.

As I hold her hand, I will remember when she held mine through the good and tough times, as a mother should. I will realize how much she has taught me in a short amount of time. Mother’s Day has not been easy for me these past nine years.

I wish she could be here for when it’s my turn to celebrate my own Mother’s Day. I wish she would be there watching me react to eating a burnt piece of cake and attending Mother’s Day events in school  like she for me.

As I sit with my mom this year all grown up, I will remember what Mother’s Day is all about, showing our moms a little extra love and attention one day a year.  Although my mom won’t remember, I will.

Happy Mother’s Day Mom! I love you!

Brittany Carel

Brittany is a intern with the Alzheimer’s Association Southeast Florida Chapter and a student at Florida Atlantic University.

Leave a Reply

